The annual celebration of press photography that is the UK Picture Editors’ Guild Awards in Association with Shutterstock showcased some incredible imagery from the past year and honoured a selection of established and up-and-coming photojournalists for the work they’ve achieved over the past twelve months.

Toby Melville from Reuters took the overall title of Shutterstock Press Photographer of the Year after claiming a clutch of awards in three separate categories: he was named Canon Sports Photographer of the Year and was Highly Commended in the Fixation News Photographer of the Year and Commended in the Iconic Images Royal Photographer of the Year categories. Each of the category winners received a trophy and a cheque for five hundred pounds, with a further cheque for a thousand pounds given to the Shutterstock Press Photographer of the Year. You can see some of Toby’s images below. All images open in a lightbox.

Sports 1st – Toby Melville

Shutterstock Press Photographer of the Year – Toby Melville

News 2nd – Toby Melville

Meanwhile the Chairman’s Award in recognition of a lifetime achievement was given posthumously to Terry O’Neill CBE (30 July 1938-16 November 2019) and a further Chairman’s Award was given to Marilyn Stafford in recognition of her contribution to photography that has spanned many decades, including working as an understudy to Cartier Bresson in Paris in the 1940s and continues with the Marilyn Stafford FotoReportage Award.

Over four thousand pictures were entered by more than four hundred photographers, with judging being carried out by a team of ten picture editors led by Industry veteran Lee Martin. “The quality and variety of work submitted yet again this year was simply staggering,” Lee remarked. “There is so much talent out there and the UK really does lead the way. We need to work hard as an industry to make sure all these photographers get the exposure and credit they rightly deserve for their work.”

Alan Sparrow, Chair of the UK Picture Editors Guild Awards, was equally effusive: “The quality of the work by the press is breath taking and these image are testament to what good photography can do for the news industry.’’

The full list of prize winners is as follows:

Canon sports Photographer of the Year
Toby Melville Reuters
David Davies Press Association
Mike Egerton Press Association

Clicking on an image will open each gallery in a lightbox

Dave Benett Arts and Entertainment Photographer of the Year

Richard Pohle The Times
Leon Neal Getty Images
Lia Toby Freelance

Fixation News Photographer of the Year

Tolga Akmen AFP/Freelance
Toby Melville Reuters
Oli Scarff AFP/Freelance

Fleet Street’s Finest Photo Essay Photographer of the Year

Hannah McKay Reuters
Jeff Mitchell Getty Images
Eddie Mulholland Daily Telegraph

Fujifilm Student Photographer of the Year

Cameron Smith Falmouth University
Luke Ross Cameron Falmouth University
Callum Yates Falmouth University

Genesis Regional Photographer of the Year

Danny Lawson Press Association
Mark Marlow Freelance
Oli Scarf AFP/Freelance

Getty Young Photographer Bursary

Luke Dray Freelance
Chloe Knott Danehouse Photography
Peter Summers Freelance

Iconic Images Royal Photographer of the Year

Victoria Jones Press Association
Max Mumby Freelance
Toby Melville Reuters

Sony National Newspaper Press Photographer of the Year

Jack Hill The Times
Heathcliff O’Malley The Telegraph
Richard Pohle The Times

UKPEG Business Photographer of the Year

Simon Hulme Yorkshire Post
Simon Dawson Freelance
James Hardisty Yorkshire Post

UKPEG Videographer of the Year

Bryan O Brien The Irish Times
Neal Megaw Freelance/Falmouth University
Adam Gray SWNS

© 2020, Professional Photo Magazine and Respective content owners.. All rights reserved.