Shortlisted Finalists, 2022 Awards

Hundreds of entries were put before our panel of judges who were asked to decide the best photographers in this very talented field of photojournalists.

The judges, led by former Sunday Times Picture Editor Ray Wells, deliberated for many hours to decide which of the images in 11 categories stood out in this exceptional group.

For the first time, photographs from the shortlisted finalists in nine categories* will be put before the public so that they may choose their favourite in the IMAGO Photograph of the Year.

(Click on the log-in button to register.)

Below you will find a small selection of the finalists work. Click on image for full screen preview.

The shortlisted finalists in the 11 categories are in alphabetical order

Canon Sports Photographer of the Year

Julian Finney Getty,

Andrew Stenning Mirror,

Alex Whitehead SWPix

DMGT Portrait Photographer of the Year

James Glossop The Times

Daniel Hanbury Freelance/ Evening Standard

Natasha Pszenicki Associated Newspapers

Edmond Terrakopian Freelance

Dave Benett Photo Arts and Entertainment Photographer of the Year

Chris Furlong Getty Images

Jeff Gilbert Freelance/Daily Telegraph

Danny Lawson Press Association

Fixation News Photographer of the Year

Chris Furlong Getty Images

Peter Jordan Freelance/ The Sun

Jeff Mitchell Getty Images

Genesis Imaging Regional Photographer of the Year

Tom Maddick SWNS

Charles McQuillan Freelance/Getty Images

Oli Scarff Freelance/Agence France-Presse

Getty Images Young Photographer of the Year

Molly Darlington Freelance/Reuters/Action Images

James Manning Freelance/Press Association

George Wood Freelance/Getty Images

Nikon Student Photographer of the Year

Annabel lee Ellis University of Gloucestershire

Ryan Jenkinson Falmouth University

Jory Munday Falmouth University

Fleet Streets Finest Photo Essay, The Missing Years

Chris Furlong Getty

Hannah McKay Reuters

Richard Pohle The Times

Jeff Moore Freelance

Piemage Business Photographer of the Year

Jeff Gilbert Freelance/Daily Telegraph

James Hardisty Yorkshire Post

Danny Lawson Press Association

Sony National Newspaper Photographer of the Year

Wattie Cheung Freelance/Daily Mail

Richard Pohle The Times

Andrew Stenning Daily Mirror

Royal Photographer of the Year

Jonathan Brady Press Association

Kelvin Bruce Freelance

Chris Jackson Getty

© 2022, Professional Photo Magazine and respective content owners.. All rights reserved.