Nikon has partnered with CIWEM and WaterBear to launch the Environmental Photographer of the Year competition – with entries now open. Celebrating its 14th year, the annual awards showcase the very best in environmental photography – from the impact humans have on the planet to those inspiring sustainable living.

The competition provides an international platform to raise awareness of the environmental issues that put our planet at risk. Both professional and amateur photographers are encouraged to submit their creative, resonant and thought-provoking imagery to be in with a chance of winning an award, a cash prize or a stunning prize package consisting  one Nikon Z 7II camera body, one NIKKOR Z 24-70mm f/2.8 S, one NIKKOR Z 70-200mm f/2.8 VR S and one NIKKOR Z 14-24mm f/2.8 S.

*. It’s free to enter and features eight categories – including the Environmental Photographer of the Year 2021 accolade.


The winning photographs will form part of an exclusive exhibition at the United Nations Climate Change Conference in November 2021 (COP26). The Environmental Photographer of the Year 2021 exhibition will also tour internationally with Nikon Europe, CIWEM and WaterBear.

Julian Harvie, Head of Marketing for Nikon Northern Europe comments: “In the hands of the world’s greatest photographers, Nikon has been at the heart of many of the most important stories told over the last century. Empowering photographers and videographers to seek out those moments, realise their creative vision and illuminate the ineffable has long been central to our brand’s purpose. Climate change and the protection of our environment are among the most important stories of our time. We are delighted to support this incredible award alongside CIWEM and WaterBear, reaffirming the power of photography to change the world.”

To learn more and enter The Environmental Photographer of the Year competition visit:

Entries close on 31st July 2021 and winners will be announced at COP26 in November 2021.


© 2021, Professional Photo Magazine and Respective content owners.. All rights reserved.